If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

4 03 2011

A while back, I started doing some videos about the usability of my new Animas Ping insulin pump.  It was a lot of fun, but the holidays and some other personal things sort of put a hamper on that.

However, the real reason I started doing those videos was that I was preparing for a presentation at a local usability conference called STLUX.

My emphasis in college was Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), but I am not a usability professional.  I do not doing anything related to that in my daily job.  However, it has always been a curiosity of mine, and I try to keep up with that world.

I’d been meaning to get back into HCI and thought that STLUX would be a great way to stretch my wings.  The obvious choice was my insulin pump and similar medical devices.

Since I’m not a usability professional, I tried to keep my talk light and interesting.  I’m not the best speaker, but I did have a few people come up to me after the talk to discuss things further.  I had a lot of support from my colleagues and it was a great experience all around.

My session was not recorded, but I have posted my slide deck on Scribd.  The first 13 slides are as the viewer would see it, and the second 13 slides contains my speaking notes.  You can Ctrl+click to visit the hyperlinks at the end of the document.

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

In addition to my presentation, I was also volunteered to be the photographer for STLUX.  I’ve posted a bunch of pictures on Flickr already and I think there will be more from the secondary photographers up soon.

STLUX 2011 Flickr

Thanks to everyone who provided assistance and I hope you guys learn a little bit about the challenges of designing user-oriented medical devices. Now, where is that glass of milk? =)

Actions

Information

One response

4 03 2011
val

I really liked your slides/notes – I think you definitely gave people something to think about.

Now of course, I have visions of rewriting the children’s book: If you give a mouse a cookie, he’s going to need to test his blood sugar…Testing his blood sugar shows, he’s too high to eat. So he needs a correction bolus…

Man, you could photoshop some test strips into the real pictures and print the whole thing out… probably have the copyright police all over you, but might be worth it ; )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

