Oh, I wish I had a pump

16 05 2007

At least sometimes. Last night, I had some hearty soup for dinner with a slice of homemade banana nut bread. GiR and I carefully calculated carb content and measured accurately. My blood sugar was a bit high before dinner, so I took some extra insulin for a correction. I figured everything would be perfect. Ha! Later that evening, I was at 58 with nearly no symptoms. I hate some chips, tested 15 min later and was at 50. Ugh. These are the times I wish I had a pump because it could tell me how much insulin I had “on board” from dinner. Was I at 58 with a ton of insulin on board (requiring a large reaction), or at 58 with no insulin on board (requiring a small reaction)? Also, I wondered why that happened. I’m pretty sure I calculated everything correctly. Of course, sometimes 1 + 1 = 3.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

