Tools of the trade

31 07 2007

After reading some comments on various blogs, specifically regarding this post, I decided to do some research on lancing devices and lancets. I don’t know much about the Accu-check, but hearing the rave reviews of the Softclix, I think I’m going to get it. I was also very surprised about the BD Ultrafine 33 lancets. I hadn’t really given a thought to lancet gauges, so when I found out that my Freestyle Flash lancets are 25 gauge, my jaw dropped! So huge! Why was I doing that to myself?!?!

Also, I have been wanting another Flash for my bedroom so I don’t have to lug my only pouch upstairs. One of these days, I just know I’m going to forget to put that pouch back into my purse and end up at work meter-less. A second meter will help greatly. As such, here is my shopping list:

Now, for my next trick, I will try to convince GiR that the $55 for these supplies is a needed expense to improve the quality of my life. =)

UPDATE: Does anyone know if the BD lancets will work in the Softclix? I can’t find anything online about compatibility.

UPDATE 2: The BD lancets do NOT work in the Softclix. I finally found this lancet compatibility chart. I think I will just stick with the Freestyle lancing device and just use the BD lancets. Oh, and GiR wants me to tell you that the convincing was easy, so he must love me after all. =P

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 07 2007
ces

I have an Accu-Chek. When I decided to purchase their software, I called to order it. They gave me the software at no cost (& no shipping) and when I mentioned that I was thinking of buying a second meter so I could have one at work, they gave me that, too.
Call, it can’t hurt.

1 08 2007
Bernard Farrell

Thanks for the pointer to the lancet compatibility chart. That’s most useful. I’ve added it to the Diabetes Search Engine (http://bernardfarrell.com/dse.html).

The Softclix sounds interesting, but the BD lancet device works fine for me. It’s about 4 years old, yellowed, and still works fine.

Leave a Reply

