Pump vs. Pen

19 09 2007

Well, it’s only been 2 meals and I already hate using the pen again. ><

Trying to tweak the amount of carbs I eat so that I can get my insulin to round up to a whole unit is frustrating. For example, my typical breakfast is 20g of carbs. Well, my insulin/carb ratio at breakfast is 1:8. So, if I want to take 3 units, I have to eat an extra 4g of carbs to round it out. I got so used to just eating whatever the heck I wanted and letting Lucy do her thing instead of having to “eat up” to whole units of insulin.

Another frustrating thing I had forgotten about was “tunneling”. I think this is where the insulin sort of travels back up the space the needle makes in your skin and then, well, comes out of your skin. I took my shot for dinner and when I removed the needle, I notice a bit of liquid on the top of my skin. Was that insulin that didn’t get absorbed? If so, how much? What a complete guessing game! I never have that problem with my infusion sites. Needless to say, I was slightly high after dinner, but I managed to do a small correction with Lucy.

No problems with tunneling with my breakfast shot, so I assumed everything went fine. Then, two hours later I was at 261! Ewwww… I programmed in a correction, flew through the wizard and hit deliver. Then I realized that since I didn’t bolus with Lucy, it didn’t compensate for IOB. Ugh. I had completely forgot about that. The wizard is such a crutch. And I happened to be at the doctor, waiting to get my blood drawn for an A1c and other things. So, to recap: an over-correction combined with getting blood drawn will most likely result in a hypo. Ugh. Also, the correction ended up being more units than I used for breakfast, so I’m not sure I’m saving myself any Humalog by using the pens. I almost might as well just use Lucy as normal and sweat it out.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 09 2007
Ed

The Bolus Wizard does make life alot easier – to think this is how life for all diabetics was just 3 or 4 years ago – hang in there only a few more days till that insulin comes in!

19 09 2007
carlene

Hi,
I am new here but my 7 yr old grandson has T1, he is on the pen which is great compared to the shots, but now they are looking into getting him on the pump. Just last week the nurse at school miscalculated and gave him a double dose dropping him down to 29, he went down at recess and didn’t come back up. He wet his pants, eyes glassed over,luckily 2 teachers saw him go down and helped in time. Will the pump stop human error?
Thanks
Carlene

19 09 2007
Amalas

The pump will not completely stop human error. As you saw in my post, I accidentally gave myself a slightly too high correction because I forgot to factor in IOB. However, the pump definitely reduces human error A LOT. All the information is there, so you can tell if someone already gave a bolus so you won’t accidentally give a double dose. Also, if you catch that you gave a double dose, you can set temporary rates so that you won’t go low later. Plus there are a ton of alerts and features that you can use to keep you from screwing up, like delivery limits or rechecking alarms, etc. Heck, I even have an alert to remind me to take my pills every day! Anyway, good luck with your grandson and I hope things get better.

Leave a Reply

