To endo or not to endo?

20 09 2007

As you may or may not remember, my last endo visit was less-than-spectacular. My next appointment is coming up in about a month, and I’m not sure I want to go. I mentioned yesterday that I got my blood drawn for an A1c and some other tests. I had originally just needed the “other tests”, but my regular doctor decided to throw an A1c in there as well. So, here are the points I am considering:

  1. My endo does not really know very much about the pump
  2. She doesn’t provide any real useful information on lowering my A1c
  3. I pretty much go to the endo just to get my A1c result anyway
  4. I just got an A1c from my regular doctor
  5. I loooove doing my own research, both from books and on the internet

As such, I can’t really see any point to seeing my endo. I’m doing things well enough and I don’t want to fuss with taking vacation from work and driving there, just to wait around to get useless information.

One potential use of an endo visit would be to check on my feet. However, I am thinking of going to a pedorthist to get fitted for some nice shoes, so that should take care of that aspect.

Also, I am not abandoning the idea of going to an endo entirely; just for right now. A friend from GiR’s church says that she has a really nice endo, so I may try that one in the future. It’s just that right now, I don’t see much of a point.

Can anyone think of a really good reason that I should go?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

