Anything, but not everything

19 10 2007

On the weekends, GiR and I usually have a bunch of friends over to play games and hang out and such. Typically, we just make some pizza (which I have finally figured out how to bolus for, btw), but this week we’re going to let MB make dinner. We’re going with a sort of New Orleans theme (I plan on making beignets and pecan pralines), so he’s going to fix some red beans and rice. Here is the conversation that followed:

MB: oh, and if i make red beans and rice for tomorrow, will you be able to eat it?
Me (after much thinking): I’m trying not to sound preachy, but I can eat whatever the hell I want. Do not worry about these things.

It makes me very frustrated that people worry about what I can and can’t eat.  I’m not allergic to any foods, so I don’t see why I can’t eat whatever everyone else is eating.  Sure, when I’m at restaurants, I choose things that are lower-carb or easier to bolus for.  But, when it’s just friends at home, I don’t want to make a fuss.

My friends should not be the ones to worry about what I eat.  Yes, I clearly know that red beans and rice is a pretty high-carb meal.  However, it is up to ME to figure out how much to eat and how to bolus.  That’s MY job, not theirs.

In general, my food motto is: “I can eat anything I want, just not everything.”  Yes, I’m making some high-carb desserts, but it’s not like I’m going to gorge myself.  I will probably have HALF of a beignet and 1 BITE of the pecan pralines.  That’s it.  I don’t have to deprive myself of all this tasty food just because I have diabetes.  I just have to eat in moderation.  If only more people followed that advice…

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 09 2009
sandrar

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

5 11 2009
Laurie Francis

Hi!
Your post was automatically generated and connected to my post – naturally, I had to check it out. Learned something new – bolus. Had to look it up!
cheers!

Leave a Reply

