Basal blues

29 10 2007

I need to adjust my basals, but I’m not sure what to do.  I know I need to do basal tests, but I find them impossible to do.  I can barely go 3 hours without eating something, so there’s almost no way I can go the 10+  hours required for a basal test.  Typical schedule:

  • 6:30 – breakfast
  • 9:30 – snack
  • 11:30 – lunch
  • 2:30 – snack
  • 6:00 – dinner
  • 8:30 – snack

I don’t always eat all the snacks, but I will say that if I skip my afternoon snack, I get very very grouchy before dinner.  If I have to do a basal test (say for a lunch test), here’s the schedule:

  •  6:30 – breakfast
  • 9:30 – no correction, no morning snack
  • 11:30 – no lunch
  • 2:30 – no afternoon snack
  • 6:00 – dinner

11 and 1/2 hours between eating…  Not.  Possible.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 10 2007
Allison

LOL, oh honey, you’re not supposed to go that long without eating! Even without taking insulin, your blood sugar would start to drop, thus ruining the basal test. I am going to send you some information about basal testing, ok? It will help clear up your confusion.

29 10 2007
Allison

Oh, arg, I misread your post! I’m sorry…

Anyway, you should move your breakfast up about an hour and a half on your basal test day. You only have to wait about 4 hours before you start the test. So you should have breakfast at say 8:00, then test again at 12:00, 2:00, and 4:00. That’s probably all you would need to do. Testing can be done between 4-12 hours, depending on the test. You could stop at 4:00 and have a pretty good sense of your afternoon numbers. If you wanted to test 4:00-bedtime, eat lunch, and then start testing at 3:30, 5:30, 7:30 and then eat. Just break it up a little bit more and you won’t have to go as long without eating.

29 10 2007
Amalas

Thanks for that info Allison! I don’t know why I didn’t think of breaking it up into shorter segments. Duh. Also, thanks for the tip about moving breakfast up. I think that might work.

29 10 2007
Caro

Hi Amalas,

I’ve been reading your blog for a little while, but I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve commented. I hate basal tests too, and have to admit to having got really lazy about them lately, relying instead on CGM to tell me what’s up. Sadly that plan doesn’t really work. I agree with Allison though, that splitting it up in to shorter segments is probably the way to go.

I noticed that you’re doing both NaBlo and NaNo. I’m glad to find I’m not the only d-blogger doing both. If you fancy looking me up, I’m on NaBlo as Caro and you can find my NaNo profile at http://www.nanowrimo.org/user/206758 (since author search is still disabled). Good luck with both!

Leave a Reply

