Wipe out

7 11 2007

Firstly, an update on this post.  Blood sugars are still crap.  I had to have my basal up to 160% just to get something reasonable.  I’m currently at 130% and nearing the end of my period, so hopefully it will get better soon.

But now, the meat of my post.  For some reason, I felt like relaying my experience with the lowest low I’ve ever had.

I was in college and fairly freshly diagnosed.  Either I didn’t have a roommate at that time or she was out or something, because I definitely remember being alone in the room.  I don’t know what went on before the low, so I can’t tell you if it was exercise-related or food-related or what.  But what I do remember is standing in front of my dresser, feeling faint, then blacking out.

I woke up on the floor, with a nasty bruise on my head, so I assume I hit my head on my bed on my way down.  I have no clue how long I was out.

Although I was awake, I still didn’t have any strength to get up.  I crawled towards my door and managed to open it.  I lay down in the entryway, with my hand sort of out in the hallway, hoping someone would pass by and help me.

I lay there for a few minutes, but no one helped.  I’m not sure I was with GiR at the time, so I don’t think I called anyone.  In any case, I was on the floor and my phone was up on the dresser, so I couldn’t reach it anyway.  Eventually, I managed to find the strength to get up.

I don’t remember testing my blood sugar or eating anything, but I assume I did.  I’m also not sure that I even knew that the passing out was related to low blood sugar.  I was still newly diagnosed and didn’t have much of a clue about anything yet.  I’m just glad that it turned out okay and that I didn’t have to go to the hospital.  Still, it’s one of the scariest moments I’ve had with my diabetes.

Actions

Information

One response

8 11 2007
Bernard Farrell

That sounds really scary.

This disease is a lot easier when you’ve got a partner to help out. I’m glad you made it through.

Leave a Reply

