Like a baby

10 11 2007

I had a lot of time-sensitive things going on this morning, so GiR and I were rushing around to get things done.  At some point, it hit me that I was going to be late for some things and I just started bawling.  Not just a few tears, but all-out sobbing.  I was so upset that I might miss my appointments and disappoint the people I was meeting.  Then it occurred to me:  I should check my blood sugar.  GiR tested me and I rang it at a nice 71 with units on board from breakfast.  Ugh.  No wonder I was upset.  Stupid lows.  I popped a couple Starburst, turned off the ridiculous temp rate that I’ve been needing, and waited it out.  No more than 10 minutes later and I had calmed down and I realized that everything was going to work out.

I know that GiR was really upset with me that I wasn’t able to control my emotions and I couldn’t figure out a good solution.  It’s just so frustrating when it’s not just being upset, it’s fighting a low too.  There’s only so much control I have over my emotions.  Some of it is just purely physical and related to my blood sugar and I can’t control that as easily.  I hate feeling out of control, but I’m not sure what else I can do.  Often by the time I think to test my blood sugar, it’s already too late and I’ve yelled at people.  GiR, I know you don’t read my blog, but I am sorry.

Actions

Information

One response

11 11 2007
Caro

I can really identify with this. I often lose the ability to control my emotions or respond in an emotionally adult way when I’m low or dropping fast. And I know it frustrates my boyfriend no end when I’m behaving like that, and he often ends up snapping back. Until, that is, we both realise what is going on. There’s no need for forgiveness, because we both know neither of us is really to blame. I’ve written about this before on my own blog, about how this stupid condition affects us both, how it isn’t just about me.

Hope you’re feeling better now.

Leave a Reply

