Why wait?

12 11 2007

I vaguely remember reading a few posts around the diabetes blogosphere about people who are getting pumps for the first time. They say that their pump has arrived, but they are waiting patiently for a pump trainer.

Wait, what?

I don’t know about you, but setting up a pump is ridiculously easy. One of the people even showed a pic of a Cozmo, which even has a quick start feature. It takes almost no time to get going.

While waiting for Lucy to arrive, I read the entire manual on Cozmo’s website a couple times. I learned how to fill the tubing, set basal rates, adjust all the settings, etc. I believe they even had guidelines for how to handle the switchover from pen to pump. I stopped my Lantus dose about 24 hours before I anticipated Lucy’s arrival so there would be no basal on board. I also took my basal rate and divided by 24 to get a per-hour amount, then reduced it by about 20%. Better to have small highs that can be corrected than have dangerous lows.

When Lucy arrived, I had a great unboxing and followed all the steps and hooked myself up. It took maybe 30 minutes? I don’t remember exactly. I was up and running in no time. By the time I met with the pump trainers, I had been using Lucy for a few days already. I already knew most of the things that they showed me. It made for a very quick session.

So, what I don’t understand is why people would wait? There’s no way I could just sit there with a brand new pump, waiting for a week to meet with the trainers. Are people just afraid? They make set up so easy and there are a ton of safeties, so there’s very little risk of messing up. Just do it!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 11 2007
Allison

I actually think it’s probably company policy to have you meet with a pump trainer, regardless of whether or not you had already hooked yourself up. Probably liability issues or something… giving you a piece of technology that could kill you without offering training? Eh, that sounds like a lawsuit in the making if you ask me.

12 11 2007
Scott

Setting basal rates, perhaps the most critical element to success in pumping insulin, is not something that can be taught simply by using pictures and is best done by a trainer or guidance from someone with experience. For most people with type 1, who remain sensitive to even small insulin dosage changes, its not a matter that can be overlooked.

12 11 2007
Lili

It’s absolutely a liability issue. When I was trying to get my training set up, I remarked that I really didn’t need a lot of training and this nurse just went off on me. When I finally got my training started (inexplicably three weeks later), the CDE said they’d had a staff meeting about what I said and discussed how they were going to stop me from doing it. I had to tell I never said I was going to start on my own. Can you imagine, though? Anyway, I’d guess they were afraid of a lawsuit.

Leave a Reply

