525,600

19 11 2007

We all know that diabetes and depression go hand in hand.  I am no different.  Some weeks I just can’t get things together.  150% basals show little improvements (although I shudder to think of what my blood sugar would be like without it…), stress at work only exacerbates things, constant struggles to guess at carb content in food, etc.

Some days I just don’t want to do anything because no matter what I do, my blood sugar is out of whack.  Can’t eat those french fries because they’re too complicated, can’t go without eating at all because I’ll starve, can’t go for walks cause I might go low.  Can’t, can’t, can’t.  So many things I can’t do.

And the one thing that I definitely can’t do:  fix it.  This is never going to go away.  Ever.  I’m stuck with this damned disease every minute of every hour of every day.  It’s unrelenting and I can’t take a break.  Just let me breathe sometimes!!

Of course, the one thing I can do is persevere.  Keep on living to see another day.  Another day with diabetes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 11 2007
Amylia

ack. i feel ya. i am depressed and finding my new lexapro is not working well. that, combined with yesterday hovering around 200 mg/dl all day despite loads of insulin really sucks. sometimes, diabetes just sucks it out of you. add depression to the mix and it’s tough. very tough.

ahhhhh, i have no wise words. just i understand. a day off from the d-word(s) would be heavenly.

20 11 2007
Bernard Farrell

Hi Amalas

Sorry you’re going through a tough time with diabetes. That’s one of the worst things about it. Going from reasonable control to lousy control.

I hope you don’t mind that I tagged you!

Leave a Reply

