Carb game

26 11 2007

When I was in college, one of the jobs I had was as a Peer Health Educator. So, when I found out I had diabetes, I decided to give a presentation about it. One of the games I had was this carb game. I made flash cards with pictures of the food on the front and a description and serving size on the back. They had to line up the food in order of least carbs to most carbs, then I pulled out an answer sheet to see how well they did. I thought it was a great way to show the different amounts of carbs in various foods. I still have the game tucked away somewhere, but I thought it would be fun to do an online version. =)

Below are a various foods, listed with the serving amount I used for the calculation. First person to post the correct order from lowest to highest amount of carbs gets a virtual completely carb-free cookie! lol I will create a new post with the answers (along with the actual carb count) once someone wins. Good luck! (Note: all numbers are verified via CalorieKing, but no cheating, people =P)

apple apple, 1 cup chopped

Langer apple juice Langer 100% apple juice, 1 cup

Dr. Pepper Dr. Pepper, 1 cup

milk 2% milk, 1 cup

string cheese string cheese (mozzarella and cheddar swirl), 1 stick

Barilla spaghetti Barilla spaghetti, 2 oz dry

Dreamfields spaghetti Dreamfields spaghetti, 2 oz dry

Blue Bunny premium vanilla Blue Bunny premium vanilla ice cream, 1/2 cup

Blue Bunny fat free no sugar added vanilla ice cream Blue Bunny fat free no sugar added vanilla ice cream, 1/2 cup

poptarts frosted strawberry Pop-Tarts, 2 pastries

Panera blueberry bagel Panera blueberry bagel, 1 bagel

broccoli broccoli, 1 cup chopped

carrots carrots, 1 cup chopped

Big n Tasty McDonald’s Big n Tasty (with mayo, no cheese), 1 sandwich

McDonald’s medium fry McDonald’s fries, medium

chicken breast chicken breast (meat only, roasted), 1 cup

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 11 2007
Christine

Wow, this is hard with all those foods. I’ll take my best shot without looking anything up. You’re going with total carbs, not the “impact carbs” or whatever it’s called on the dreamfields, right? Some of this stuff I never eat.

Chicken
String Cheese
Broccoli
Carrots
Milk
Apple
No-sugar added ice cream
Regular Ice Cream
Apple Juice
Big Mac
French Fries
Dr. Pepper
Dreamfields
Barilla
Pop Tarts
Bagel

20 12 2008
tatiana

I will try too,
chicken
broccoli
carrots
string cheese
Milk
Apple
No-sugar added ice cream
Regular Ice Cream
Apple Juice
Dreamfields
Barilla
Big Mac
French Fries
Dr. Pepper
Bagel
Pop Tarts

Leave a Reply

