Huh…

5 12 2007

GiR and I still out on weekly dates, and this week we went to Romano’s Macaroni Grill.  It’s a little fancy, but it’s a fun place.  They have paper tablecloths and crayons so you can draw pictures and play hangman.  =)  Most importantly, they have complete nutritional information for everything on their menu.  No direct link – click on “Menu, Locations, & To Go” then scroll down to the bottom for “Nutritional Information” and “Allergen Information”.

My favorite thing to get is the Parmesan-Crusted Chicken Salad.  Very tasty.  60g carbs total, but I figure it has croutons and the chicken is breaded fairly heavily.  I decide to bolus ahead of time because that’s supposed to result in better post-prandials.  Well, the food comes and the chicken does not seem as breaded as I remember it.  I chalked it up to my bad memory and I ate it anyway.  I did have an extra bite or two of the bread (about 22 grams for 1/4 of a loaf) but it probably wasn’t going to be enough.

Well, it wasn’t.  About 1 hr 15 minutes later, back safely at home, I tell GiR “honey, I don’t feel very good.”  A quick test revealed a number in the 50s.  Ugh.  Okay, get a slice of bread and a couple Starburst.  20 minutes later still in the 50s.  Double crap.  More bread more Starburst.  20 min after that I’m finally up to 98.  I top out around 160 later, so not too much harm done.

I just have to wonder what happened.  Did they change the recipe without changing the nutrition info?  Did they run out of the breaded chicken and substitute with non-breaded chicken?  Can you really call it parmesan-crusted chicken if there’s no breading?  Did our casual mention of diabetes to our waitress lead her to suggest a substitute to the chef?  (my guess is no on that part)

*sigh*  Even with seemingly fantastic carb information, things can still go haywire.

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 12 2007
Jeff

Hi Amalas.

Sorry to hear about you going low after dinner. At least you were home where you and GiR could deal with it quickly. I don’t like restaurant “surprises,” so I generally wait until the meal arrives before starting a bolus.

Nancy and I go to Macaroni Grill once in a while. By the time we finish, our paper tablecloth looks like a couple of kindergarteners had a marathon crayon fest! Did your waitress write her name upside down so you could read it when she introduced herself?

8 12 2007
Bernard Farrell

Amalas

That’s annoying. I think you have to take the carb counts as guidelines. Because individual portions (like sizes of pieces of chicken) are going to change.

I’m glad the rebound wasn’t too bad. It’s always scary to me when you’re low and feel like you don’t know where it will end.

Maybe you could take half the bolus before the meal arrives and then the rest when it gets to your table.

8 12 2007
Amalas

“Maybe you could take half the bolus before the meal arrives and then the rest when it gets to your table.”

Clearly that’s what I should have done. I need to remember that with Lucy, I can do those things.

Leave a Reply

