Ball gowns and boluses

4 01 2008

Sorry this is so late, but the holidays absolutely killed my free time.

In early December, GiR’s work had a fancy Christmas party.  This way my first year with Lucy, so I wasn’t sure what to do.  I went through every single dress I owned to find one that could house Lucy without A) looking stupid or B) making it tricky to bolus.  Here’s what I ended up with:

blue dress back

blue dress side

Amusingly enough, this is my old prom dress!  I wore a backless/strapless bra and used a slightly different clip than I normally do.  I was able to slip Lucy out when I needed to bolus and snap her back in after.  I didn’t have to use Ryan’s help all the time and I didn’t have to reach into my bra or anything weird.

It was a multi-course meal, and I was sooooo glad I had Lucy this time around.  In the past, I just didn’t eat some of the courses because I didn’t want to bolus again.  Lucy makes this way easier.  =D

Also during the night, I found someone who was semi-recently diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes.  He told me all about how he wasn’t taking care of himself and was on a ton of pills and almost went on insulin, but decided to get into shape instead.  He lost a ton of weight and went from taking like 6 pills to only 2.  He talked about how he’s taking care of himself for the sake of his kids.  His success story completely brightened my evening and reaffirmed the fact that diabetics are some of the most awesome people out there!  =P  He was also fascinated by my pump and I hope I taught him a few things about Type 1 diabetes.

All in all, it was a great night with good blood sugars, new friends, and a kick-ass dress.

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 01 2008
Colleen

Great dress and you look wonderful!

5 01 2008
Toni

Someone else that named their pump! My pump is Thelma, my cgm is Louise. I figured they are my closest friends, so deserved names:) Glad you were able to enjoy yourself. Have you ever tried a thigh wrap for your pump? I have one with a little garter that hooks on to your undies, so it doesn’t fall down, and it works fairly well.

7 01 2008
Jeff

You look great! I’m glad you were able to find a solution to the volatile mixture of insulin pumps and formal attire. Even clipped on a belt, the pump can still cause my suit jacket to bump out on one side more than the other.

Leave a Reply

