dLife’s “flourless chocolate cake” review

21 01 2008

I got a little pamphlet in the mail from dLife that contained a flourless chocolate cake recipe.  I love to bake, so I was definitely intrigued.  I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, so I whipped it up for me and some friends to try.

The recipe is very easy to make and put together.  It baked nicely, smelled good, and looked great.  The taste, however, was definitely lacking.  Even though it seemed moist upon first bite, further bites felt “stuck” in your mouth.  It did not taste very chocolaty, and the nuts were a serious detractor (although I admit I am not positive I ground them finely enough).

However, a dollop of whipped cream made this cake much more palatable.  The smooth texture of the whipped cream, combined with the chocolate cake made for a better experience.  And, for the low, low price of only 10 carbs (12 w/ whipped cream) per slice, I’ll take it!

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 01 2008
Sara

I got the same recipe and was wondering the same thing – maybe I’ll have to try it out. Thanks for the review!

21 01 2008
Karen

I got the little package as well, but I hate to bake, hehe, but thanks for the commentary. 🙂

21 01 2008
insearchofbalance

I have a similar recipe (not low fat… makes a big difference!) that I adapted from one of Nigella Lawson’s recipes which is just spectacularly yum. It’s here.

http://insearchofbalance.wordpress.com/2007/01/02/ladies-and-gentlemen-i-have-an-answer/

Thanks for posting this review. I’m often curious about dlife’s recipes but haven’t made a single one yet!

24 01 2008
Bernard Farrell

Sounds yummy. Though you might try substituting whole wheat white in place of white flour. That’s less carbs and more fiber, so it’s a net gain. Plus it tastes pretty good.

26 01 2008
Marcia

Can you send us the recipe, I just bought one at Trader Joes this week and my
husband is diabetic, please share your recipe with us. Bless you. Marcia

Leave a Reply

