Bummed and hungry

5 02 2008

In my quest to do better, I’ve implemented a couple of the things I set out to do.

I did an overnight basal test and that looks accurate. I might want to do another one just to confirm.

I “pre-bolus” (bolus about 15 minutes or so before eating) for lunch during the week since I eat those at a very regular time. This has definitely lowered my lunch post-prandial, so I think I will keep it up.

Regarding weight loss (which seems to be all the rage in the Diabetes OC), that’s still slow going. I have actually lost 2 pounds, which surprised me, but that could just be water, happened to have food in my stomach, holding Lucy vs. having GiR hold her, etc. I don’t see 2 pounds as anything to write home about. I’ll be excited when all 10 pounds are gone.

I did cut out snacks from the vending machine and replaced them with pre-measured bags of cashews. However, I can only eat so many cashews. I am frakking sick of them.

I just CANNOT get my daily carb count to be any lower than 150. 150 is pushing it as it is. 18 for breakfast, around 50 for lunch, around 50 for dinner, then about 20 for various snacks (See above re: cashews). That’s 138 without even thinking.

Relatedly: I feel hungry all the time. Like right now. My stomach is growling so bad and I just want to distract with some Doritos. But that’s another 30g carb that’s not in my daily allowance. What do I do?

Also, GiR will not buy or prepare meat for dinner. The question is always “pasta, noodles, or rice”? I mean, the meals will have some meat and plenty of vegetables, but I’m talking about real meat. Like chicken, a slab of beef, fish fillets, ANYTHING. It’s pretty hard to stay under 150 g carbs when my meals mostly consist of pasta.

I have the sinking feeling that all these problems are related. It’s hard to stay feeling “full” when most of my food is straight carbs with little or no protein. It’s hard to stay under 150g carbs if most of the food is carby. It’s hard to eat non-carby food when that’s all there is.

To do: Talk to GiR about incorporating more meat and low-carb meals into the budget/lifestyle. Suck it up and buy/prepare said meals myself.

Actions

Information

One response

5 02 2008
Allison

On Weight Watchers I eat between 130 and 170 grams of carbs. I think that’s perfectly healthy. If you’re hungry all the time, try eating food that has more fiber in it or protein. Your meals should definitely have more protein in them, but going lower on carbs isn’t really necessary. I think that’s a normal amount. But if you ate more meat, that protein would help fill you up so you probably wouldn’t eat as much carbs, but you still need carbs. We all need carbs. Carbs = energy. It’s happy stuff, you just don’t want too much.

Maybe just work on exercising more as far as weight loss? Then you can eat what you’re eating and still lose weight. If you go too much into deprivation as far as food, you’ll feel cheated and give up faster. Stick with what satisfies you (not stuffs you) and work more on exercise to balance out the equation. I hear that helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

