Back from hiding

26 03 2008

Well, I haven’t actually been hiding. I’ve been stuck in work-mandated training that has no access to the internet. Ewwwww…. I’ve got a couple days break, so I’m catching up on all sorts of internet goodness, including writing this post. =)

I’ve made a few more tweaks with Lucy and my blood sugars have been fantastic! We’re talking like nearly completely normal numbers fantastic. I had a couple days where either I was sick or I had to SWAG a lot, but other than that, I’ve been averaging around 120. Sweet.

  • I added in a short higher basal section in the early morning to combat a small dawn phenomenon
  • Upped my insulin: carb ratios again. 1:8.5 for breakfast and 1:9 for the rest of the day
  • Upped my overnight basal rate from .60 to .70

Now I can wake up around 75, have post-prandials in the 130-140 range, be 85 or so before meals and go to bed at 100. Now, a small note about waking up at 75. That may seem low to some people, but I am trying to prep myself for having kids someday. 75 is not the end of the world.

I have also come to the realization that I desperately need to lose 10-15 pounds.  I know I’ve mentioned it before, but it really hit me a couple days ago.  I’m going to continue to work on reducing snacks or having lower-calorie snacks, but the big thing this time is exercise.

GiR and I have worked out a decent outline for exercise goals for me.  We’re going to focus on running since that’s quick, easy, and GiR likes to do it too.  =)  My long-term goal is to be able to run 3 miles in 30 minutes by June 30th.   Shorter-term goals include 1 mile in 10 minutes by April 30th and 2 miles in 20 minutes by May 30th.

Then, the weekly plan includes a point system.  30 minutes is worth 1 point (15 min is 1/2 point, 1 hour is 2 points, etc), and I have to earn at least 5 points in the week to get bonus points.  Additionally, I have to exercise at least 5 days during the week to get the bonus points too.  For example, if I only do 15 minutes one day, that counts towards the number of days, but I will have to do 45 minutes another day to get back the missed points.

Every once in a while I cash in my points for various stuff, like a video game, yarn, or discount on a larger item.  It’s not quite a 1-1 point-dollar ratio, but close.  Like, 7 points might get me a 5 dollar item.  This system has worked well for me in the past as a way to keep myself motivated to exercise.

I’m hoping that by June 30th, I will be able to run 3 miles in 30 minutes and that I will also be closer to my goal weight.  In my dream fantasy land, I will get down to 120, but I have the feeling I will end up at 125, which is fine.  I’m just getting sick of seeing 132 or higher on my stupid scale.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 03 2008
Kelly K

To quote Fiona Apple, ” U R an extraordinary Machine.”
k2

26 03 2008
Jeff

Wow. You have really got it all going on, Amalas. Please send me some of your discipline.

Leave a Reply

