CGMS questions

17 04 2008

I talked to my husband last night and he seems okay with the idea of pursuing a CGMS.  I just don’t know where to start.

For those who have gotten insurance coverage, what does that mean exactly?  Do they cover 20% of the costs?  50%  90%  What?  Does the part that goes through the insurance go towards the deductible?  Even if they decide not to pay for it, is it possible to have it still go towards the deductible?  Example:  at one point in my diabetes life, I found that I could buy biohazard containers through the insurance.  They didn’t actual pay for any of it, but it went towards paying off the deductible.  I hope that made sense.

My endo recommended either Dexcom or Abbott’s Navigator.  I looked at the Navigator, but man, the transmitter is HUGE.  No thanks.  Also, does the Dexcom allow manual blood sugar entry yet?  My endo said yes, but I couldn’t verify that on their website.

I’m pretty sure I will have a hard time convincing my insurance to pay for it.  I have some hypoglycemia, but no unawareness and no need for hospital visits.  I am looking to get pregnant, but not for another couple years.  Any other ideas for reasons?

Oh man, this is a scary new place.  But, I want CGMS so bad…

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 04 2008
Val

After three years, I just got (new) insurance that pays for my dexcom sensors. (I already owned the dex). Basically they approved me for six months worth of sensors. For each month’s worth ($240), I have to pay shipping and an “out of formulary” (or something) copay of $50. (Unforturnately, with this insurance I pay higher premiums and have to copay my pump supplies so actual savings is less than $190 a month – more like $100). Still it saves me over $100 a year.

For me, my CDE was able to submit that I have been paying for them myself for years b/c I really need them to control my BG – it’s extremely sensitive and has just about no discernible pattern. If you haven’t used a CGMS before, I would suggest lots of meter logs, especially if these show unpredictable lows/highs or if meter reading don’t match up to your a1c – for example, if you may have weird reading while asleep. The letter from my CDE basically said I was a person who went above and beyond recommended testing requirements, etc and still could not get good results – I’ve never needed an emergency room visit or anything.

My Dex 7 is almost a year old, and doesn’t allow manual entry – I didn’t think they were ready with that yet.

Good luck!

23 04 2008
Bruce

I just got my dexcom last thursday! and yes it allows you to enter BG manually, it’s actually quite easy to do.

I had the first generation minimed RT Monitor with the lollipop transmitter, now that was huge. The dexcom has this small itty bitty transmitter that fits right in the middle of the insertion set. it doesn’t move or jiggle. I considered the new version of the minimed RT monitor, but decided against it since it’s not FDA approved for more then 3 days and that the transmitter is said to flop around unless you tape it down.

the dexcom lasts 7 days well at least 7 days as approved by FDA. and the transmitter just sits there not moving. Also a rechargable batter is nice. What I’d like to see is an iPhone 2 version of a receiver that would reallly rock.

Leave a Reply

