Recovering

5 05 2008

Well, turns out my high blood sugars were most likely due to happy happy female issues…  So, things are mostly under control again.  I also raised my basal rates a touch.  I know at my last endo appointment, I had been having a lot of lows, so we wanted to back off the basals a bit.  However, now I am finding that I have waaaay too many highs or semi-highs (i.e. 130 isn’t bad, but it’s not a good fasting number).  Constantly battling highs was wearing on my nerves, so I bumped the rates back up.  They’re not as high as they were before the endo appointment, so hopefully I won’t have as many lows.

This past weekend was crazy busy.  So many parties and get-togethers and SWAGing for homemade tasty food.  This whole month will be equally crazy, so I’m trying to figure out what things I can do to keep myself from getting too stressed out.  In theory, I’d like to stop beating myself up over my blood sugar, but I’m not sure that’ll ever happen.  My diabetes is just too important right now.

Next week is my follow-up appointment at the diabetes center.  I’m planning on requesting a Dexcom.  I think it will ease some of my stress about trends so I know whether to fend off a low or a high.  I’ve already got a name picked out, but I will save that reveal until I actually have it it my hands.  Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

