GiR’s guide to blood sugar

8 05 2008

After seeing the wide range of values I could get from the same blood drop when comparing the Keynote to my Flash, GiR and I decided that it would just be easier to make up numbers based on how I feel instead of actually testing.

Question 1: How do I feel?

  1. Loopy
  2. Fine
  3. I want to kill something

If 1, blood sugar is low. Eat something.
If 2, blood sugar is normal.
If 3, blood sugar is high. Then ask Question 2: What do I want to kill?

  1. Myself
  2. My friends and family
  3. The entire world
  4. The entire universe

If 1, blood sugar is 150.
If 2, blood sugar is 200.
If 3, blood sugar is 250.
If 4, blood sugar is 300.

=D

What’s really frustrating about the comparisons between meters is that I now see that I can’t really trust any of my numbers at all. If, with the same blood drop, I get numbers that are 20+ points different, then what’s the point of being so accurate at all? My pump can calculate very, very precise doses of insulin. But! They are based on this vague result of a blood sugar test. Sometimes it feels like I could just pull a number out of a hat (or take GiR’s questionnaire) and it would be close enough.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 05 2008
Kathy

Ha ha ha ha ha! Too true, especially about “the whole universe”! 🙂

Seriously, though, what is up with wide-ranging values across different meters? Ugh! I know how you feel. My piece o’crap (TrueTrack Cheapie Model) can be 100 points different between hands. WTF?!?

10 05 2008
Bernard Farrell

I’ve used the Keynote as a second meter for the last year or so. Because of my Dexcom I’m forced to use the OneTouch Ultra as my primary. The Keynote consistently gives me higher results than the OneTouch.

Looking at their test results, I’m more inclined to accept the Keynote values. Here’s my thinking (could be flawed). If you’re putting a meter out that’s got a low accuracy level you’d want it to report the blood sugar towards the low end of what might be the real number. If your blood sugar is really 100 and the meter says it’s 85 that’s OK. But if the meter said it was 120, you might over correct and drop low. My guess is that meter companies adjust the meters that way.

Congrats on the Dexcom. How are the sensors going for you? I usually get about 10 days out of each one on average. Right now the one I’m wearing is 11 days old, but the adhesive is looking pretty ratty. 🙂

Have you tried the software out yet? It’s very informative. Especially the hourly view over a week or more. You can see which times of day need fixing up based on the spread of readings. All good stuff.

10 05 2008
Amalas

I don’t actually have my sensors yet, they are just ordered. The suspense is killing me!!!

Your thinking about the Keynote is interesting, but I’m not sure it’s accurate. I’ve been using the Keynote along with my Flash (and now I’ve switched over to the Lite), and the Keynote doesn’t always give higher numbers. Like I said in this post, they are more “centered”. Often when I am high(er), the Keynote actually gives lower values.

Of course, I am comparing the Keynote to the Freestyle products, while you are comparing the Keynote to the One Touch products, so maybe that is where the difference it.

Leave a Reply

