Final thoughts on the Keynote

20 05 2008

I’m pretty much done trying out the Keynote for now, so here are my final thoughts.

Bad

  • The test strips seems “wobbly” when I put it into the meter.  Like it’s not as secure or something.
  • The backlight is either on or off, no quick button to toggle it.
  • No light down the strip.  I got really spoiled on this when using the Freestyle products (Flash and Lite).
  • Numbers tend toward the center, which could result in missed lows.
  • Still need to code the meter.
  • You MUST get all the blood on in one go.  This is the deal breaker, sorry.

Good

  • Considerably less extreme values, which prevents over-treating lows and highs
  • Excellent form factor (small, light, grippy sides)

So, as you can see, I’m not all that happy with the Keynote for regular use.  However, once I get my Dexcom (still waiting to hear from the insurance!), I plan on using the Keynote for calibration.  Thanks to Agamatrix for letting me try this out!

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 05 2008
Penny

I got a Keynote too and must say I’m not all that impressed. It’s not a bad meter, but it doesn’t have some of the features that I’ve been spoiled with. (I use Freestyle meter also)

20 05 2008
Jillian

Yeah I stopped using mine a week ago. It wasn’t impressive enough. Okay the accuracy may have been there, but it was lacking so much in other areas that I would never think to use it as a primary meter.

22 05 2008
Hannah

I haven’t gotten to use the actual meter yet, but I think I’ll start using it really soon. I primarily use One Touch products, so it seems, at least on the packaging, to have some decided advantages over that. I plan to be as honest as possible with my feedback. We’ll see how it goes.

You guys all make me want to switch to a Freestyle! Haha!

24 05 2008
Bernard Farrell

Interesting comments. I’m comparing the Keynote against a OneTouch. That’s probably why I like it so much. But Jillian, Penny and Amalas all came from FreeStyle.

I liked FreeStyle when I used it years ago, but I never got fully comfortable with the strips. I like the visual feedback.

If you all can give lots of feedback, maybe we can ‘design’ a new meter between us.

27 05 2008
Albert

Awesome feedback from everyone!

Bernard- you know ‘people’ ARE designing new meters based off of this feedback.

Leave a Reply

