Freestyle disappointment

28 05 2008

I’m sure many of you remember the Freestyle survey a while back where you could get 50 free test strips for the first survey, and 50 free strips for a second survey.  I filled out the first survey and got my 50 free strips, no problem.  Then, a month later or so, I got an email telling me to fill out my second survey.  Well, lo and behold, the program is closed and I can’t get my second 50 strips.  I called up Abbott and they told me that they ran out and there’s basically nothing they can do.  I still don’t understand how this happened though.

Say you have 100 vials of test strips available to give away.  You decide to put together a two-part survey.  As such, you give 50 vials away for the first survey, and reserve 50 vials for the second survey.  This makes sense, right?  That way, 50 people each get their promised 2 vials.

However!  This does not appear to be what Abbott did.  Instead, they sent 100 people 1 vial for the first survey.  Now, I can see how this would get their test strips into the hands of more people , thereby increasing future sales.  But, it gives the impression of false advertising, which could potentially lose you more customers.

Overall, I’m not going to complain about 50 free strips, but I just wish they would have made it clear ahead of time that your second 50 strips are not guaranteed.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

