???

30 05 2008

I fired up my new Dexcom last night, and it seems that’s all I get: ???

The sensor insertion went fine, with only a small trouble figuring out how to get the plunger thing off.  Waiting the 2 hour startup time went fine.  Then came calibration.

Maybe it’s just because I didn’t know what I was doing, but it took 2 1/2 hours to fully calibrate the darn thing.  I know I entered at least 10 calibration values before it started showing me any data points.

I finally got a couple values, so I went to sleep.  When I woke up, I checked on the graph to see how I was doing.  Well, I have no idea really.  I got maybe 2 or 3 values an hour, with HUGE gaps in between.  What is the purpose of this thing if I doesn’t actually capture any data?

Thinking it might be that I slept on that side funny, I let it go.  I managed to get about 5 values in a row while eating breakfast, getting dressed, etc.   Then, more ???.   A couple more values while walking to work, then more ???.

Is this normal for the first day?  I was really looking forward to having a nice curve to look at, but it’s not much of a curve with only a handful of readings per hour.  I really don’t want to replace the sensor so soon, so I’m just going to wait it out for now.  Any tips or reassurance you have would be greatly appreciated.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 05 2008
Bernard Farrell

Generally the readings are too good on the first day. That’s why I sometimes insert it at night and restart the following day. At the very least I wait an hour after inserting a new sensor before telling the system that it’s there.

If you can calibrate when your blood sugar is steady (not always possible) you’ll get better results.

Bear in mind that when you give it a new number (very different to what it’s reading) it may take 10-15 minutes before that new number is reflected in the readings. So if it doesn’t seem to be paying attention immediately, don’t panic.

I’ll bet the second day will be much better. If not, call Dexcom support.

31 05 2008
Bernard Farrell

You may also want to go ask blinkered. They’ve had a Dexcom for a while and may have some suggestions.

31 05 2008
Amalas

Quick update: I called Dexcom support and they said the ??? was pretty normal for the first day and that it can take up to 12 hours (and sometimes more) for the sensor to get acclimated. So, not long after I posted this, I started getting more regular values and the rest of the day was freaking awesome!

Leave a Reply

