Up and down

9 09 2008

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  There have been a lot of things that I’ve wanted to say, but just haven’t put the fingers to the keyboard.

  1. The sister of one of my coworkers died a few weeks ago.  The coworker has diabetes, and apparently so does his sister.  They say she died of complications of diabetes, so it was hard for me to hear that one of our own had passed away.
  2. I tried out the Apidra for a week and I have to say:  I HATED IT!  I was nothing but a rollercoaster all week.  My meal boluses were off, my corrections were off, everything was too wacky and unpredictable.  I switched back to my Humalog and I’ve had fantastic numbers since then.
  3. During that rollercoaster ride, I noticed my mood change drastically when my blood sugar was out of range.  I was cranky when I was low, and I felt like shit when I was high.  I only felt good when my blood sugar was between 90 and 120.  While I suppose this could be a good thing, it makes things very frustrating when I have an off day.
  4. Losing weight is still a struggle.  I tried doing low-cal for awhile, staying under a set number of calories per day, but that was really hard.  It seemed like it was nowhere near enough calories to keep me satisfied.  I felt hungry all throughout the day and ended up binging on crap and ruining the low-cal thing anyway.  I’ve also fallen off the exercise wagon now that it’s colder and I have class once a week.  It doesn’t seem like there’s enough time.  I wish I could come up with a plan that would work long-term.
  5. The pressure to have kids is stronger than ever.  Now that my A1c’s been good 3 times in a row, people take that as a sign that it’s time to have kids.  From my perspective, I’m content to simply continue having an awesome A1c, so I can have kids whenever I want.  Also, there’s an awkward thing going on with my work, and I won’t want to think about getting pregnant until next May-ish, but that doesn’t stop people from mentioning it ALL THE TIME.

It’s been great keeping up with all of you in the Diabetes OC.  Keep up the great posts!

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 09 2008
candyadderley

I think youre admirable for coping this well so far…God be with you

9 09 2008
Scott K. Johnson

Welcome back! Great to see an update from you.

20 09 2008
Minnesota Nice

Of course, the kidlet will have one fantastic hand knit wardrobe…………………….cool.

Leave a Reply

