Cutting it awfully close

29 09 2008

I had a system set up for reordering my sensors.  When I put in a new sensor and I only had one spare for backup, that’s when I would call EdgePark to reorder.  That way, I would still have a backup and new ones would arrive before I had to tap in to my last sensor.

Things do not always go as planned.

I called to order and then didn’t hear anything for a couple days.  The nice CSR told me that they were waiting on a Rx from my endo.  Um, what?!?!?  Turns out that Dexcom “changed their packaging” or something and they needed an updated letter of medical necessity.  I instantly paled at the thought that my sensors would no longer be covered and I’d have to jump through a million hoops to get them back.

It took an awfully long time to contact my endo (they don’t have a number that goes straight to a person, only a line where you can leave a message) to know if they faxed the form.  Then an awfully long time to get confirmation from EdgePark that they were sending my sensor.  They were able to ship one box, then it looks like I will get a 90 day supply after that.

I stretched my penultimate sensor as long as it would go, but I eventually had to switch to my very last one.  I have been extra careful with it to make sure it lasts until my new sensors arrive.  I finally got the tracking information today and the new sensors arrive tomorrow.  Today was day 7 with my last sensor, so they are cutting it awfully close…

Actions

Information

One response

30 09 2008
Bernard Farrell

I recently changed a sensor that lasted 15 days. That was a record for me.

What I’ve found is that the adhesive starts to go and then the sensor accuracy goes down. So I do my best to keep direct water off it in the shower and to dry it carefully afterward. With this approach I generally get 10 days out of a sensor.

I wonder what they actually changed.

Leave a Reply

