Diabetes-free shower

18 11 2008

I managed to time things yesterday such that I did an infusion site change and a sensor change right at the time I was taking a shower.  I ripped out my sensor, disconnected from my pump, tore off my infusion site, and hopped in the shower.

It was glorious!

I twirled around and around without worrying about being caught in tubing.  I used my loofah without worrying about catching it on my sensor.  I scrubbed, I moved, I danced.  For that short little 15 minutes, I forgot about diabetes and just let myself be me.

It was probably a little ridiculous to be so excited about such a thing, but I’ll take what I can get.

Actions

Information

7 responses

18 11 2008
Kerri.

I LOVE free shower, too! 🙂

18 11 2008
Lee Ann

Not ridiculous at all!

18 11 2008
Scott K. Johnson

I have totally been there! Well, all except the loofah part… 🙂

20 11 2008
diabeteschat

Hi,
I absolutely love free bath as well. But I’m not a diabetic, my son is. He is 3 and a half years old. Can you imagine trying to keep a 3 year old from grabbing the plaster on his bum everytime he has a bath. We have had more than our fair share of battles, fights and tears on this subject! I see it as a major milestone if we get through bathtime with the infusion set still in place!
Regards.
Elsa
(http://diabeteschat.wordpress.com)

22 11 2008
diabeteschat

I have an award for you. Come on over to my site for the details.
Regards.
Elsa (diabeteschat.wordpress.com)

26 11 2008
Loz

I find this whole site astounding. My boyfriend of 2 years has type 1 diabetes, exactly the same as you. Yet he just uses levemir pens after he eats and he is FINE. I can’t understand why you need so many different tests etc.

Please be aware, i mean none of this in an offensive way, im not belittling your condition and i treat my boyfriends diabetes very seriously. I just dont understand.

26 11 2008
Loz

Change that, rapid when he eats, and levemir at night. got confused.

Leave a Reply

