Our own language

12 12 2008

I have been with Lucy for a year and half now, and we have gotten to the point where we speak our own language.  I know what she is telling me before I even look at her.

*beep*

Oh, my last blood sugar was high.  Thanks for reminding me to check again.

*beep*

Oh, you’re done delivering my bolus.  Time to eat.

*beep*

Oh, I am low on insulin.  Better pack a spare reservoir so I can refill at work.

To my husband and other people who hear my devices beep, those beeps mean nothing.  But to me, those beeps are a language all their own.  One only diabetics know.

*beep*

Actions

Information

One response

12 12 2008
Kerri.

Great post, and I totally agree. The beeps are so quick and usually quiet, but they communicate so much.

Leave a Reply

