Well, it works…

3 09 2009

In a never-ending quest for lower and more stable blood sugars, I’ve been making some tweaks.  However, looking at the data, I’m less sure I’m doing the “right thing.”

I’ve done overnight, morning, and afternoon basal tests (evening still eludes me), so I know those are good.  My insulin:carb ratios are such that I am taking quite a bit of insulin with meals.  Result:

  1. I rarely go above 200/220 after meals.  And if I do, I almost always come right back down.
  2. My basal % of TDD is 30-35%.  Very very low.
  3. Because of the reduced basal, I have to bolus for Every. Single. Piece of Food. I put in my mouth.  i.e. if I treat a low with 2 Starburst instead of 1, I have to bolus for that 2nd Starburst.

I’m getting a little concerned about #2.  Early recommendations are for basal % TDD to be around 50%.  Pumping Insulin also has recommendations for basal % TDD to be around 40%.  Additionally, some studies have shown that the people with the least variability have basal % TDDs of around 40%.  So, I’m not way off base, but 30%?  Really?

HOWEVER!  My last A1c was 5.9% with almost no lows and less time spent high.  My % in range has continued to go up, even as I am lowering my basal.  Should I be worried that I’m not following the “correct” recommendations even though the end results show it works?

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 09 2009
Lili

No! Do what works! I too have had to consider this – my basal tends to be 30-40% of my TDD (I don’t usually eat a ton of carbs). I’ve had to justify this to people who were really stuck on that 50/50 split. But if it’s not broken, why should I fix it? They certainly couldn’t argue with my results.

15 09 2009
Scott K. Johnson

Awesome work on the A1C!

And on the basal rate thing, I have to agree. If you’ve tested, and you know it works, then there’s all the proof you need right there. Sounds like if you did up your basal to better fit that 50/50 box, you’d be low all the time! That’s no fun!

7 10 2009
Sarah S.

I don’t know where I read this recently but apparently, one doctor sat down and combed through all of his patients’ records and concluded that a 60/40 split was more typical of patients with good control. My takeaway from this is that my 60/40 split (bolus to basal) is just fine. Good for you!

9 09 2015
camping

camping

Well, it works… | Plastic Pancreas

Leave a Reply

