Data and what to make of it

2 11 2009

I just downloaded data from my Dexcom and have been taking a look at it.  There’s so much data and so many different ways of looking at it; it’s hard to tell what to make of it.  There are a few items I like to focus on:

Modal Day screen

  • average blood sugar for the month
  • average blood sugar for the past 3 months
  • standard deviation

Glucose Distribution screen

  • % in range for the month
  • % in range for the past 3 months

Success Report screen

  • compare data montly
  • compare data quarterly

The average will tell me about what my A1c will be.  I use this chart and I have found that comparing my Dexcom average to this chart is very close to my actual A1c.

The standard deviation will tell me if I am doing too much of a rollercoaster.  Lower is better.  I will confess, mine is not as low as I would like, so I know that I need to level it out.

% in range is very important to me.  Knowing that I am in range 75% of the time is greatly empowering.  Knowing that I am 95% in range upon waking is even more empowering.  Of course, knowing I am only 50ish% in range after lunch tells me that I need to work on that area.

Comparing the data from month to month is great for trends.  I can see that my average in October was less that what it was in September, which is great.  I can also see that my average for the last quarter is lower than the previous quarter, so I imagine that my A1c will be lower as well.

Using the Dexcom software can be a little overwhelming (there’s so much more data available than I even mentioned), but if I focus on these few things, I feel like I have a pretty good handle on my diabetes control.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

